Vaccine Confidence

Investing in Ontario’s Vaccine Research

At Merck, we have a shared belief that collaborations are critical to keeping Canadians informed and healthy. With this idea in mind, we are proud to announce our partnership, including a $3 million investment, with the University of Toronto’s Centre for Vaccine Preventable Diseases, the Dalla Lana School of Public Health, and the Government of Ontario.

This partnership will bring forward new approaches for conveying the importance of vaccines as a cornerstone of public health and create an important tool in the prevention and control of infectious diseases in Canada and internationally, ultimately helping save lives. Read the University of Toronto's announcement here.

“The COVID-19 pandemic has shone a light on the critical importance of immunization and innovative collaborations. As a science-based company with a long-standing legacy in vaccines, we are honoured to be partnering with the Dalla Lana School of Public Health, the University of Toronto’s Centre for Vaccine Preventable Diseases and the Government of Ontario. We are confident that this invaluable collaboration will help strengthen Ontario’s standing as a world-leading home to scientific innovation.”

AnnA Van Acker,

President and Managing Director

The Hope of Vaccines

Vaccines are one of the greatest achievements in public health to help reduce transmission and achieve population immunity, ultimately helping save and improving lives.

Today, we know that improving health outcomes of our communities can have a positive impact on economic and societal well-being, for example, through longer working lives, higher productivity, improved educational outcomes, social inclusion, and reduced healthcare costs.1

As a key player in the life science industry, we have a responsibility to understand the reasons why some people or communities2 are hesitant towards vaccines and to ensure that they are making decisions about their health informed by knowledge and by science. The hope vaccines bring is too precious for us not to do so.

We have been part of the realization of that hope with the discovery, development, and delivery of effective vaccines.

The other side of the coin is the threat that diseases which have already been eradicated, or at least greatly minimized through immunization, could come back to posing a risk to individual and public health.3

We can’t let that happen.

References

1 The Economic Value of Vaccination: Why Prevention Is Wealth. J Mark Access Health Policy. 2015;3.

2 Quinn SC, Andrasik MP. Addressing Vaccine Hesitancy in BIPOC Communities — Toward Trustworthiness, Partnership, and Reciprocity. N Engl J Med. Published online March 31, 2021:NEJMp2103104.

3 Gardner L, Dong E, Khan K, Sarkar S. Persistence of US Measles Risk Due to Vaccine Hesitancy and Outbreaks Abroad. Lancet Infect Dis. 2020;20(10):1114-1115.

Image scientifique de la réponse immunitaire d’un vaccin (14010479) figurant sur la page de ressource de la marque Merck

Confiance à l’égard des vaccins

Investir en Ontario dans la recherche sur les vaccins

Chez Merck, nous croyons tous que les collaborations sont essentielles pour que les Canadiens demeurent informés et en bonne santé. Dans cette optique, nous sommes fiers d’annoncer notre partenariat, comprenant un investissement de 3 millions de dollars, avec le Centre for Vaccine Preventable Diseases de l’Université de Toronto, la Dalla Lana School of Public Health et le gouvernement de l’Ontario.

Ce partenariat permettra d’élaborer de nouvelles approches pour faire valoir l’importance des vaccins en tant que pierre angulaire de la santé publique et de créer un outil important pour la prévention et le contrôle des maladies infectieuses au Canada et à l’échelle internationale, ce qui permettra ultimement à aider à sauver des vies. Lisez l'annonce de l'Université de Toronto ici (en anglais).

« La pandémie de COVID-19 a mis en lumière l’importance cruciale de la vaccination et des collaborations novatrices. En tant qu’entreprise à vocation scientifique ayant un héritage de longue date dans le domaine des vaccins, nous sommes honorés de travailler en partenariat avec la Dalla Lana School of Public Health, le Centre for Vaccine Preventable Diseases de l’Université de Toronto et le gouvernement de l’Ontario. Nous sommes persuadés que cette collaboration inestimable aidera à renforcer la position de l’Ontario en tant que leader mondial de l’innovation scientifique. »

AnnA Van Acker,

présidente et directrice générale

Les vaccins apportent l'espoir

Les vaccins constituent l’une des plus grandes réalisations en santé publique pour aider à réduire la transmission et à parvenir à l’immunité collective, ce qui permet ultimement à aider à sauver et à améliorer des vies

Aujourd’hui, nous savons que l’amélioration de la santé de nos collectivités peut avoir un effet positif sur le bien-être économique et sociétal, par exemple en prolongeant la vie professionnelle, en augmentant la productivité, en améliorant les résultats scolaires, en favorisant l’inclusion sociale et en réduisant les coûts des soins de santé1.

En tant qu’acteur clé du secteur des sciences de la vie, nous avons la responsabilité de comprendre les raisons pour lesquelles certaines communautés2 hésitent à se faire vacciner et de veiller à ce qu’elles prennent des décisions concernant leur santé en s’appuyant sur des connaissances et des données scientifiques. L’espoir qu’offrent les vaccins est à ce point précieuse que nous nous devons d’agir.

Nous avons participé à la réalisation de cet espoir dans le cadre de la découverte, de la mise au point et de l’administration de vaccins efficaces

L’autre côté de la médaille est la menace que des maladies qui ont déjà été éradiquées ou du moins fortement atténuées par la vaccination peuvent recommencer à représenter un danger pour la santé individuelle et la santé publique3.

Nous ne laisserons jamais une telle chose se produire.

Références

1 The Economic Value of Vaccination: Why Prevention Is Wealth. J Mark Access Health Policy. 2015;3.

2 Quinn SC, Andrasik MP. Addressing Vaccine Hesitancy in BIPOC Communities — Toward Trustworthiness, Partnership, and Reciprocity. N Engl J Med. Published online March 31, 2021:NEJMp2103104.

3 Gardner L, Dong E, Khan K, Sarkar S. Persistence of US Measles Risk Due to Vaccine Hesitancy and Outbreaks Abroad. Lancet Infect Dis. 2020;20(10):1114-1115.