Missed your last doctor appointment? It’s time to get back on track.

COVID-19 has changed the way Canadians interact with their healthcare team. While some impacts were immediate, like the increased pressure placed on our health care workers, one consequence that has largely fallen under the radar is the disruption of routine care and vaccinations.

Regular care routines help doctors catch diseases in early stages, when they can be much easier to treat. A lapse in routine care can allow some detectable diseases to go unnoticed until they are in later and potentially more serious stages. Physicians are now encouraging patients to come back to routine care and prioritize potentially life-saving care practices.

Dr. Gretty Deutsch, Vice President, Medical Affairs & Country Medical Director at Merck Canada, provides her perspective on the importance of maintaining a consistent care routine.

At the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, it was reasonable for many of us to delay in-person routine visits to the doctor based on the information we had available. That’s no longer the case. It’s time to talk to your doctor about returning to a regular health check routine.

— Dr. Gretty Deutsch, Vice President, Medical Affairs & Country Medical Director at Merck Canada

Making cancer screenings a priority

Nearly half of Canadians are expected to receive a cancer diagnosis in their lifetime.1 For these patients, missing routine cancer screenings could have significant health impact.

Provinces across the country have seen declines in new cancer diagnoses since the onset of the pandemic, which means some cancers may be going undetected.2

In Ontario, hundreds of thousands of people missed routine cancer screening appointments in 2020.3

Quebec officials estimate that 4119 people with cancer went undiagnosed during the first wave of COVID-19.4

A study showed that a 4-week delay in cancer treatment could increase the risk of death by about 10%.5,6

The good news is that many cancer services that were paused or postponed at the onset of the pandemic are now available again. It’s time to check in with your doctor to ensure you’re up to date with your routine screening schedule, including mammograms for early detection of breast cancer, stool tests for early detection of colorectal cancer and Pap tests for early detection of cervical cancer.7

Vaccines and Preventative Care

Vaccinations are another essential care practice impacted by the pandemic. When schools closed their doors in 2020, school-based vaccination programs were disrupted, and many primary care visits were cancelled or postponed. Some adults may not even realize they have missed a routine vaccination for themselves or their child.8

Vaccines can help protect children and adults from illnesses like herpes zoster, pneumococcal diseases and Human Papillomavirus (HPV) infection.9,10 A decrease in vaccination levels, for example, could mean more cases of shingles, pneumonia and cervical cancer, in future years.10,11

As a mother, knowing that I am doing everything I can to help protect my children is very important to me. Routine visits with a health care provider ensure that you and your child are on track with the recommended immunization schedule in your province.

— Dr. Gretty Deutsch, Vice President, Medical Affairs & Country Medical Director at Merck Canada

Endnotes

1Brenner DR, Weir HK, Demers AA, et al. Projected estimates of cancer in Canada in 2020. CMAJ. 2020;192(9):E199-E205.

2Duong D. Doctors warn of late diagnoses as cancer screening backlog grows. CMAJ. 2021;193(22):E811-E812.

3Duong D. Doctors warn of late diagnoses as cancer screening backlog grows. CMAJ. 2021;193(22):E811-E812.

4Duong D. Doctors warn of late diagnoses as cancer screening backlog grows. CMAJ. 2021;193(22):E811-E812.

5Hanna TP et al. Mortality due to cancer treatment delay: systematic review and meta-analysis. BMJ 2020;371:m4087.

6COVID-19 response. Canadian Cancer Society. Available at: https://cancer.ca/en/get-involved/advocacy/what-we-are-doing/covid-19-response. Accessed on September 23, 2021.

7COVID-19 response. Canadian Cancer Society. Available at: https://cancer.ca/en/get-involved/advocacy/what-we-are-doing/covid-19-response. Accessed on September 23, 2021.

8Neighbourhood Pharmacy Association of Canada. 1 in 4. Available at: https://www.oneinfour.ca/. Accessed on October 26, 2021.

9Neighbourhood Pharmacy Association of Canada. 1 in 4. Available at: https://www.oneinfour.ca/. Accessed on October 26, 2021.

10Canadian Immunization Guide. Available at: https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/canadian-immunization-guide.html. Accessed on November 10, 2021.

11Public Health Agency of Canada. National Advisory Committee on Immunization (NACI). Interim guidance on continuity of immunization programs during the COVID-19 pandemic. Available at: https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/immunization/national-advisory-committee-on-immunization-naci/interim-guidance-immunization-programs-during-covid-19-pandemic.html. Accessed on November 4, 2021.


© 2021 Merck Canada Inc. All rights reserved.

CA-NON-01596

Vous avez manqué votre dernier rendez-vous chez le médecin? Il est temps de reprendre vos bonnes habitudes.

La COVID-19 a changé la façon dont les Canadiens interagissent avec leur équipe de soins. Certaines répercussions ont été immédiates, comme la pression accrue exercée sur nos travailleurs de la santé, mais une conséquence passée largement inaperçue est la perturbation des examens et de la vaccination systématiques.

Les examens effectués régulièrement aident les médecins à détecter les maladies à un stade précoce, lorsqu’elles sont beaucoup plus faciles à traiter. L’omission de ces examens médicaux peut faire en sorte que certaines maladies détectables passent inaperçues jusqu’à ce qu’elles soient à un stade avancé et potentiellement plus grave. Les médecins invitent les patients à recommencer à venir les consulter régulièrement et mettent de l’avant des pratiques de soins qui pourraient sauver des vies.

La Dre Gretty Deutsch, directrice administrative, Affaires médicales chez Merck Canada, donne son point de vue sur l’importance des visites régulières chez le médecin.

«Au début de la pandémie de COVID-19, il était raisonnable pour bon nombre d’entre nous, en fonction des renseignements dont nous disposions, de reporter les consultations périodiques en personne. Ce n’est plus le cas. Il est temps de demander à votre médecin une consultation pour un bilan de santé.»

— Dre Gretty Deutsch, vice-présidente, Affaires médicales et directrice médicale nationale, Merck Canada

Accorder la priorité au dépistage du cancer

On estime que près de la moitié des Canadiens recevront un diagnostic de cancer au cours de leur vie1. Le fait d’omettre des tests de dépistage systématique du cancer pourrait entraîner d’importantes répercussions sur la santé de ces patients.

Dans toutes les provinces, le nombre de nouveaux cas de cancer diagnostiqués a diminué depuis le début de la pandémie, ce qui signifie que certains cancers n’ont peut-être pas été détectés2.

En Ontario, pendant l’année 2020, des centaines de milliers de personnes ont manqué des rendez-vous de dépistage systématique du cancer3.

Les autorités québécoises ont estimé que pendant la première vague de la pandémie de COVID-19, 4 119 personnes atteintes d’un cancer n’ont pas reçu de diagnostic4.

Une étude a montré que le fait de retarder de quatre semaines le traitement d’un cancer peut augmenter le risque de décès d’environ 10 %5,6.

La bonne nouvelle, c’est que de nombreux services de lutte contre le cancer qui avaient été interrompus ou reportés au début de la pandémie sont de nouveau offerts. Il est temps de consulter votre médecin pour vous assurer d’être bien suivi par un dépistage systématique, notamment des mammographies pour le dépistage précoce du cancer du sein, des tests d’analyse des selles pour le dépistage précoce du cancer colorectal et des tests Pap pour le dépistage précoce du cancer du col de l’utérus7.

Vaccins et soins préventifs

La vaccination est une autre pratique médicale essentielle touchée par la pandémie. Lorsque les écoles ont fermé leurs portes en 2020, les programmes de vaccination en milieu scolaire ont été interrompus, et de nombreuses consultations ont été annulées ou reportées. Certaines personnes ne se rendent peut-être même pas compte qu’elles-mêmes ou leur enfant ont manqué un vaccin prévu au calendrier8.

Les vaccins contribuent à protéger les enfants et les adultes contre des maladies comme le zona, les infections à pneumocoque et l’infection par le virus du papillome humain (VPH)9,10. Une diminution des taux de vaccination pourrait par exemple entraîner un plus grand nombre de cas de zona, de pneumonie et de cancer du col de l’utérus dans les années à venir10,11.

«En tant que mère, il est très important pour moi de savoir que je fais tout en mon pouvoir pour protéger mes enfants. Les visites systématiques auprès d’un professionnel de la santé vous permettent, à vous et à votre enfant, de respecter le calendrier de vaccination recommandé dans votre province.»

— Dre Gretty Deutsch, vice-présidente, Affaires médicales et directrice médicale nationale, Merck Canada

Notes de fin

1Brenner DR, Weir HK, Demers AA, et al. « Projected estimates of cancer in Canada in 2020 », CMAJ, vol. 192, no 9 (2020), p. E199-E205.

2Duong D. « Doctors warn of late diagnosis as cancer screening backlog grows », CMAJ, vol. 193, no 22 (2021), p. E811-E812.

3Duong D. « Doctors warn of late diagnosis as cancer screening backlog grows », CMAJ, vol. 193, no 22 (2021), p. E811-E812.

4Duong D. « Doctors warn of late diagnosis as cancer screening backlog grows », CMAJ, vol. 193, no 22 (2021), p. E811-E812.

5Hanna TP et al. « Mortality due to cancer treatment delay: systematic review and meta-analysis », BMJ, 371 (2020), p. m 4087.

6Action contre la COVID-19. Société canadienne du cancer. Accessible à l’adresse : https://cancer.ca/fr/get-involved/advocacy/what-we-are-doing/covid-19-response. Site consulté le 23 septembre 2021.

7Action contre la COVID-19. Société canadienne du cancer. Accessible à l’adresse : https://cancer.ca/fr/get-involved/advocacy/what-we-are-doing/covid-19-response. Site consulté le 23 septembre 2021.

8Neighbourhood Pharmacy Association of Canada. 1 in 4. Accessible à l’adresse : https://www.oneinfour.ca/. Site consulté le 26 octobre 2021.

9Neighbourhood Pharmacy Association of Canada. 1 in 4. Accessible à l’adresse : https://www.oneinfour.ca/. Site consulté le 26 octobre 2021.

10Agence de la santé publique du Canada. Guide canadien d'immunisation. Accessible à l’adresse : https://www.canada.ca/fr/sante-publique/services/guide-canadien-immunisation.html. Site consulté le 10 novembre 2021.

11Agence de la santé publique du Canada. Comité consultatif national de l’immunisation (CCNI). Lignes directrices provisoires sur la continuité des programmes d’immunisation pendant la pandémie de COVID-19. Accessible à l’adresse : https://www.canada.ca/fr/sante-publique/services/vaccination/national-advisory-committee-on-immunization-naci/interim-guidance-immunization-programs-during-covid-19-pandemic.html. Site consulté le 4 novembre 2021.


© 2021 Merck Canada Inc. Tous droits réservés.

CA-NON-01688