Don’t delay, it’s time to talk to your doctor if you think you are at risk of lung cancer

Lung cancer is the most common type of cancer in Canada. On average, 81 Canadians are diagnosed with lung cancer every day.1 What’s more concerning is that about half of all lung cancers are diagnosed at stage 4, an advanced stage with a low survival rate.2 This helps to explain why lung cancer is also the leading cause of cancer deaths and why early detection is so important.3

The COVID-19 pandemic has led many Canadians to put off medical care and visits with their primary physician. For those at risk of lung cancer, delayed care could have a significant health impact.

Many Canadians have likely put off appointments with their doctor for a number of medical concerns during the pandemic, but lung cancer does not wait. If you think you are at risk or are experiencing symptoms of lung cancer, it’s time to talk to your doctor.

— Gretty Deutsch, Vice President, Medical Affairs & Country Medical Director at Merck Canada

lung image icon

Symptoms of Lung Cancer

While early detection is key, people with lung cancer may not experience symptoms or not realize that their symptoms are caused by lung cancer. And symptoms can change over time, as their condition changes. Know the symptoms of lung cancer6:

  • Lung: Cough that doesn’t go away, or gets worse, shortness of breath or wheezing, coughing up blood
  • Chest: Constant chest pain that gets worse when you breathe deeply
  • Abdomen: Weight loss that you can’t explain
  • Throat: Changes in your voice, hoarseness, trouble swallowing
  • Head: Tiredness, headache
  • Bones: Bone pain

The impact of COVID-19 on cancer care

The COVID-19 pandemic has created barriers to cancer care. For example, Ontario’s screening programs for breast, cervical, colorectal and lung cancer did 41% fewer screening tests in 2020 than in 2019.4 Delaying cancer screenings could lead to a wave of late-stage diagnoses that the health system is not prepared to meet.5

While a persistent cough, for example, may not feel urgent in the present, a visit to the doctor for this common lung cancer symptom could mean the difference between an early or late-stage diagnosis. For a patient at risk, early detection can help make the difference.

Know the risk factors:

While anyone can get lung cancer, some people have a higher risk. For example, these factors raise someone’s risk (chance) of getting lung cancer:7

Smoking tobacco or being around smoke from others

Living or working in a building that contains radon or asbestos

Having a family history of lung cancer or lung disease

Please note that this list is not exhaustive and there are other risk factors for, and symptoms of, lung cancer. If you have any questions about lung cancer risk factors or symptoms, be sure to ask your doctor.

You can help — encourage your loved ones to talk to their doctor

Lung cancer touches the lives of many. As we emerge from the pandemic, talk to your doctor as soon as possible if you think you may be at risk for lung cancer or if you have symptoms. And encourage your friends and family to learn more about the risk factors and symptoms of lung cancer.

We’re committed to a better future

Merck is committed to improving lives and making a difference for lung cancer patients. One way we’re honouring that commitment is with our partnership with MaRs: The Lung Cancer Innovation Challenge. This project gives incentives to medical innovators across Canada who focus on creating new solutions to help enhance a lung cancer patient’s journey to enable improved health outcomes.

What you need to know about lung cancer

In 2020, about 13% of all new cancer cases were lung cancers — this means about 1 in 10 people diagnosed with cancer had lung cancer1

1 in 4 cancer-related deaths in Canada were due to lung cancer in 2020.1

The chance of living for 3 years after being diagnosed with lung cancer is:

71% (71 in 100 people) when diagnosed at stage 12

5% (5 in 100 people) when diagnosed at stage 42

Endnotes

1Canadian Cancer Society, 2020. Lung cancer statistics. Available online: https://cancer.ca/en/cancer-information/cancer-types/lung/statistics (accessed September 2021).

2Canadian Cancer Society, 2020. Canadian Cancer Statistics: A 2020 special report on lung cancer. Available online: https://cdn.cancer.ca/-/media/files/cancer-information/resources/publications/2020-canadian-cancer-statistics-special-re-port/2020-canadian-cancer-statistics-special-report-en.pdf (accessed September 2021).

3Lung Cancer Canada, 2020. 2020 Faces of Lung Cancer Report. Available online: https://www.lungcancercanada.ca/LungCancerCanada/media/Documents/LCC2020_FOLCR_ENGLISH.pdf (accessed September 2021).

4Walker MJ, Meggetto O, Gao J, et al. Measuring the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on organized cancer screening and diagnostic follow-up care in Ontario, Canada: A provincial, population-based study. Preventive Medicine. 2021;151:106586.

5Maringe C, Spicer J, Morris M, et al. The impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on cancer deaths due to delays in diagnosis in England, UK: a national, population-based, modelling study. Lancet Oncol. 2020;21(8):1023-1034.

6Canadian Cancer Society, 2020. Symptoms of lung cancer. Available online: https://cancer.ca/en/cancer-information/cancer-types/lung/signs-and-symptoms (accessed October 2021).

7Canadian Cancer Society, 2020. Risk factors for lung cancer. Available online: https://cancer.ca/en/cancer-information/cancer-types/lung/risks (accessed October 27, 2021).


© 2021 Merck Canada Inc. All rights reserved.

CA-NON-01608

Ne tardez pas, il est temps de parler à votre médecin si vous croyez être à risque de cancer du poumon

Le cancer du poumon est le type de cancer le plus courant au Canada. En moyenne, chaque jour, 81 Canadiens reçoivent un diagnostic de cancer du poumon1. Ce qui est plus inquiétant, c’est qu’environ la moitié de tous les cancers du poumon sont diagnostiqués au stade 4, un stade avancé associé à un faible taux de survie2. Cela contribue à expliquer pourquoi le cancer du poumon est également la principale cause de décès attribuable au cancer et pourquoi la détection précoce est si important3.

La pandémie de COVID-19 a incité de nombreux Canadiens à reporter les soins médicaux et les visites chez leur médecin de soins primaires. Le fait de reporter les soins pourrait entraîner d’importantes répercussions sur la santé des patients susceptibles d’être atteints d’un cancer du poumon.

«Pendant la pandémie, de nombreux Canadiens ont probablement reporté leurs rendez-vous avec leur médecin pour divers problèmes de santé, mais le cancer du poumon n’attend pas. Si vous croyez être à risque ou si vous présentez des symptômes de cancer du poumon, il est temps de parler à votre médecin.»

— Dre Gretty Deutsch, vice-présidente, Affaires médicales et directrice médicale nationale, Merck Canada

lung image icon

Symptômes du cancer du poumon

La détection précoce est essentielle, car les personnes atteintes d’un cancer du poumon peuvent ne présenter aucun symptôme ou ne pas se rendre compte que leurs symptômes sont causés par le cancer du poumon. Et les symptômes peuvent changer avec le temps, à mesure que leur état évolue. Il est important de connaître les symptômes du cancer du poumon6 :

  • Poumon : toux qui ne disparaît pas ou qui s’aggrave, essoufflement ou respiration sifflante, cracher du sang
  • Poitrine :douleur thoracique constante qui s’aggrave lorsque vous respirez profondément
  • Abdomen : perte de poids que vous ne pouvez pas expliquer
  • Gorge : changements de la voix, voix enrouée, difficulté à avaler
  • Tête : fatigue, céphalées
  • Os : douleurs osseuses

Incidence de la COVID-19 sur les soins en cancérologie

La pandémie de COVID-19 a créé des obstacles aux soins en cancérologie. Par exemple, les programmes de dépistage du cancer du sein, du cancer du col de l’utérus, du cancer colorectal et du cancer du poumon en Ontario ont effectué 41 % moins de tests de dépistage en 2020 qu’en 20194. Retarder le dépistage du cancer pourrait entraîner une vague de diagnostics aux stades avancés auxquels le système de santé n’est pas prêt à faire face5.

Même si une toux persistante, par exemple, peut ne pas sembler urgente sur le coup, une visite chez le médecin pour ce symptôme courant du cancer du poumon peut permettre de diagnostiquer le cancer à un stade précoce plutôt qu’à un stade avancé. La détection précoce peut aider à améliorer les résultats thérapeutiques pour les patients à risque.

Connaître les facteurs de risque

Même si le cancer du poumon peut toucher tout le monde, certaines personnes présentent un risque plus élevé. Par exemple, les facteurs suivants augmentent le risque d’être atteint du cancer du poumon7 :

Tabagisme ou exposition à la fumée secondaire

Vivre ou travailler dans un immeuble qui contient du radon ou de l’amiante

Antécédents familiaux de cancer ou de maladie pulmonaire

Veuillez noter que cette liste n’est pas exhaustive et qu’il existe d’autres facteurs de risque et symptômes du cancer du poumon. Si vous avez des questions au sujet des facteurs de risque ou des symptômes du cancer du poumon, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec votre médecin.

Vous pouvez aider : encouragez vos proches à consulter leur médecin

Le cancer du poumon touche la vie de nombreuses personnes. Lorsque nous sortirons de la pandémie, parlez à votre médecin le plus tôt possible si vous croyez être à risque de cancer du poumon ou si vous présentez des symptômes. Encouragez vos amis et les membres de votre famille à en apprendre davantage sur les facteurs de risque et les symptômes du cancer du poumon.

Nous nous engageons à bâtir un avenir meilleur

Merck s’engage à trouver des solutions pour les patients atteints de cancer du poumon et à améliorer leurs vies. L’une des façons dont nous honorons cet engagement est dans le cadre de notre partenariat avec MaRs :Défi de l’innovation contre le cancer du poumon de l’Ontario. Ce projet offre des incitatifs aux innovateurs du domaine médical de l’ensemble du Canada qui créent de nouvelles solutions pour aider à faciliter le parcours des patients atteints de cancer du poumon afin d’améliorer leurs résultats thérapeutiques.

Ce que vous devez savoir sur le cancer du poumon

En 2020, environ 13 % de tous les nouveaux cas de cancer étaient des cancers du poumon, ce qui signifie qu’environ 1 personne sur 10 ayant reçu un diagnostic de cancer était atteinte de cancer du poumon1

Un décès lié au cancer sur 4 au Canada était attribuable au cancer du poumon en 20201.

La probabilité de vivre pendant trois ans après avoir reçu un diagnostic de cancer du poumon est de :

71 % (71 personnes sur 100) lorsque le cancer est diagnostiqué au stade 12

5 % (5 personnes sur 100) lorsque le cancer est diagnostiqué au stade 42

Notes de fin

1Canadian Cancer Society, 2020. Lung cancer statistics. Available online: https://cancer.ca/en/cancer-information/cancer-types/lung/statistics (accessed September 2021).

2Canadian Cancer Society, 2020. Canadian Cancer Statistics: A 2020 special report on lung cancer. Available online: https://cdn.cancer.ca/-/media/files/cancer-information/resources/publications/2020-canadian-cancer-statistics-special-re-port/2020-canadian-cancer-statistics-special-report-en.pdf (accessed September 2021).

3Lung Cancer Canada, 2020. 2020 Faces of Lung Cancer Report. Available online: https://www.lungcancercanada.ca/LungCancerCanada/media/Documents/LCC2020_FOLCR_ENGLISH.pdf (accessed September 2021).

4Walker MJ, Meggetto O, Gao J, et al. Measuring the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on organized cancer screening and diagnostic follow-up care in Ontario, Canada: A provincial, population-based study. Preventive Medicine. 2021;151:106586.

5Maringe C, Spicer J, Morris M, et al. The impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on cancer deaths due to delays in diagnosis in England, UK: a national, population-based, modelling study. Lancet Oncol. 2020;21(8):1023-1034.

6Canadian Cancer Society, 2020. Symptoms of lung cancer. Available online: https://cancer.ca/en/cancer-information/cancer-types/lung/signs-and-symptoms (accessed October 2021).

7Canadian Cancer Society, 2020. Risk factors for lung cancer. Available online: https://cancer.ca/en/cancer-information/cancer-types/lung/risks (accessed October 27, 2021).


© 2021 Merck Canada Inc. Tous droits réservés.

CA-NON-01609